Vantornout Belgian CX champion!

13-01-2015Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Napoleon Games) has won the Belgian cyclocross championship in Erpe-Mere on an incredible muddy and difficult course. Tom Meeusen finished on place 2, favourite Van Aert was 3rd.

All experts predicted that Van Aert would win the Belgian title, and in the beginning it seemed that these predictions would come through. In the second lap Van Aert passed a surprising Tim Merlier, and started a solo. A mechanical issue in the third lap ruined his aspirations. A very strong Nys went to the front, together with Vantornout.

Rob Peeters closed the gap for his young teammate Van Aert. With this move, he also brought back Meeusen and Pauwels. These 6 riders started the last lap together and were ready for a spectacular ending to a great race. Peeters was the first to create a small gap, but Vantornout reacted quickly. The decisive moment came on a steep and slippery climb. Vantornout made a small mistake and lost his balance. With this manoeuvre he impeded Peeters and Van Aert, causing some fuss post race. All things considered, Vantornout still managed to expand his lead. Meeusen tried to counter with a last minute effort, but finished a few seconds behind Vantornout. Van Aert ended up on place 3.

Now it is time for us  to provide Vantornout with a new X-Night with 4ZA finishing kit to match his Belgian champion jersey! You will see the result in the next few days!

In the youth categories, Eli Iserbyt became Belgian champion for the 5th time in a row. This time in the junior category. Florian Vermeersch won the "Nieuwelingen 2nd year" race.

Go back